top of page
  • Writer's pictureKisha

Pennies from Heaven

Here we are 2021, we made it! Let’s take a peek inside my closet as I reflect on 2020.

January of last year I was promoted at my job unexpectedly. If I remember correctly by the end of February my niece, one of my favorite people, moved in with my son & I. In March, I found out the man I loved dearly was cheating on me. I was devastated and battling that alone was tough. Where are my “friends”??? By the middle of March I found myself standing on the island of Oahu in Hawaii. Hawaii is most definitely my favorite place in the United States. Things are looking up! I’m losing weight and feeling a tiny little bit better about myself. Then June hits... my job that I’m content with has no work available and I’m on the hunt for new employment. During this season I spent a lot of time employed, unemployed, and struggling financially. Where is my “help”??? I was what they call job hopping. It was important to me to find a job that was a good fit. I’ve lived long enough to know money isn’t everything and it comes and goes. Then from my mouth to God’s ears my old employer reached out offered my job back with a much bigger salary. I decided to give The Closet Piece another try and within in the first couple of weeks of being back on Instagram I was hired for brand spotlight style guides, which are one of my favorite things to do. Finally designed the perfect logo for the shirt in remembrance of my mother’s life. Here I am 40 pounds lighter, back at my old job, building my brand, living with my two favorite people, accepting the fact that I can’t expect “me” from others, entering into my stage of selfishness, listening to Sunday Service Choir, Lizzo & Jessie Reyes 24/7 and I have a somewhat healed heart so now I’m open to dating.

Things are going well or so I thought.....

Then the one prayer I’ve prayed almost every single day for the last 9 years, my biggest fear, came true. Keeping reading because eventually I’m going to share this story but right now it’s still being written so I’ll keep those skeletons in my closet.

Where is my “happily ever after”??? I’m hoping the coming days bring joy to my household. Most people want a new car, house, clothes, vacations well the things I want can’t be bought... A peace of mind is priceless. Happiness is priceless. Love is priceless. True friendship is priceless. Time with loved ones is priceless. I asked my mom to put in a good word with God for me. Today, I woke up and it was a penny on the floor right at the door of my bedroom. I chuckled because my room is a mess and she probably thought I’m not going in there. You see I believe wholeheartedly in pennies from heaven. When they find me I pick them up and keep them in a cup she gave me. The pennies are a reminder of being valuable, loved, and watched over by a deceased loved one. At this exact moment it was the comfort I needed.


Find a penny pick it up all day long you have good luck!


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Time

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page