top of page
  • Writer's pictureKisha

Just listen

Have you ever called someone to talk about something specific and they flip the conversation back to them? I have. A lot! It has caused me to shut down and not share, which quite honestly can get lonely at times. Since my mother passed I realize more and more how much I confided and trusted her. Trust is key in any relationship, but I’ll save that speech for another day.



I know some (not all) people mean well and think sharing their experience is helpful but sometimes you just want someone to listen. You just want it to be about you! We need to learn how to converse and encourage without turning someone else’s experience into or about our experience regardless if we’ve been down that same road before. Learn to only insert your experience or comments when the moment is right, in some situations you may not have that right moment.


Be an active listener...

  • Don’t interrupt while the speaker is talking

  • Focus on the listener, be attentive

  • Ask questions to make sure you understand

  • Listen with empathy, try to feel what the speaker is feeling

  • Pay attention to nonverbal cues

  • Be nonjudgmental


Active listening is a skill that can be developed with practice. Whether it is a social setting or work environment we want to be listened to, understood, and not just heard. I challenge you today to just listen! Shining the light on someone else does not dim yours. Until next time sister girls... thank you for hanging in my closet.



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Time

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page