top of page
  • Writer's pictureKisha

Dress Rehearsal

The ages between 45 and 60 are considered middle aged. I’m a month or two away from turning 45 and all I can think is - I only have about 15 more years left on this earth... maybe... and that makes me think how much I don’t have my life together. At some point in my life the blueprint I designed totally fell apart. Only if I could go back in time and tell my 25 year old self a few things heck my December 2020 44 year old self...


  • Spend as much time as you can with your parents regardless of how annoying they may be because one day you’ll want to talk to them and they won’t be there

  • Love yourself and don’t compare yourself to others or society’s expectations

  • Enjoy life but save as much money as possible there will always be shiny enticing things leave them where they are and bank your money

  • Exercise & eat healthy depending on your metabolism you may not always be a size 4

  • Trust less, make sure people earn your loyalty as all friends aren’t friends but once your find your tribe hold them tight

  • Choose your partner, the parent of your child wisely as raising a child alone is hard and I’m not even referring to finances

  • Take some chances, laugh, act childlike because when you’re older you tend to analyze and overthink the smallest decisions

  • Every day is a new day some things need to stay in the past, the future presents new opportunities

  • Travel at least once a year

  • Read books, stimulate your mind

  • Enjoy the great outdoors

  • Do things alone... whether it’s dinner or a movie there may be a day when all you have is yourself

  • Learn not obsess over breakups, it hurts but life truly does go on

  • Be open to change, sometimes how you expect your life to turn out isn’t how it will actually turn out no matter how hard you try

  • Find your talent and monetize it

  • Work hard for your dreams!!!!

Truth is life is not a test or a dress rehearsal. I can’t go back in time. However, I can embrace my regrets as learning lessons and choose life. We all have choices even saying I have no choice is a choice. Be brave, choose to fall in love with your life. Let happiness be the consequence of each decision you make.


Today not only do I challenge us all to accept what we can’t change and move forward but to mentor a young person... forever learning.

By the way I am not re-reading this so excuse the typos. I corrected my last post, it was missing an entire paragraph 🤭 but this time it is what it is sister girls.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Time

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page