top of page
  • Writer's pictureKisha

Love

Valentine’s Day, February’s pagan holiday is quickly approaching. I see date night ideas, cherubs, chocolate, cards, and hearts everywhere. Although I’m surrounded by 2-14-2021 I’m not really thinking of what it means to me, if it even means anything. Then I get the call... it’s him... he says I just called to say I love you and I miss you. It’s a 51 second conversation, if I can even call it a conversation.


Now it begins, the overthinking. Does he love me? Do I love him.... still?


We’re surrounded by portraits of love from fairytales as children to the romantic comedies as adults.

Cinderella taught me if I worked hard all day then go out at night I may find my prince.

Sleeping Beauty taught me you may be near death and in a coma before you find love.

Brown Sugar taught me love was true friendship.

The Notebook taught me love was patient.

Something New taught me love comes in a form that isn’t even your so called type.

Sixteen Candles taught me love may be watching you even you think you’re invisible.

Coming to America taught me you may have to leave the state to find love.

The Best Man taught me love is possible even after an indiscretion.

50 First Dates taught me love is dedication.

Sex and the City taught me you’ll have to kiss a lot of frogs before you get your prince.

Eat, Pray, Love taught me love may not last forever and the importance of finding yourself.


Life has taught me many things about love, it’s shown me as quick at it grows it can also fade. Love isn’t always smiling, laughing, or kissing. It’s overcoming life’s challenges together. It’s honesty, respect, trust. It’s uplifting one another. It’s sacrificing and compromising. Love is multifaceted.


Can love even be defined?

Is love enough?

To be continued.....

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Time

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page