top of page
  • Writer's pictureKisha

The Minimalists

Have you ever heard of The Minimalists, Ryan and Josh? I recently watched both of their documentaries on Netflix. When Josh read an excerpt from their book my mouth dropped. He talked about moving into his new apartment. Take a moment... When you think of moving you instantly start thinking of the things you need. It’s at that point in which you focus on what you already have. The “need” list gets very long because you tend to need all new things from a new bathroom shower curtain to kitchen decorations. Now take a moment and reflect on the word need. I’m not speaking to those moving out for the first time but I am talking to those moving from one home to another. What is it that you really need? I’ve lived in the same residence for 14 years and I still have unpacked boxes. Insane! There was a lady on the show that was the same age as me, while I can’t remember what she said verbatim I most definitely identified with her. I am addicted to stuff. I have so much and the more money I earn the more stuff I get. I’m thinking I’m going to be so happy when I get this, whatever this is. On November 3, 2020 I purchased a $400 hair dryer. Today January 24, 2021 I haven’t even opened the box. Yet, I needed that Dyson hair dryer! I get this rush. I see something and think oh my goodness I need that and I’ll be so happy once I have it. Pause, let’s take another moment and focus on that word see. I haven’t been inside a Sephora store since the pandemic. So how did I see the hair dryer? Two words: social media. The dyer is supposed to work faster and be much better for your hair but considering I’m not a hair stylist do I really need a $400 hair dryer? I’ve been drying my hair for 44 years with what I’ll refer to as a “regular” hair dryer. The advertisements on television and social media draw us in, especially the predictive ads. Almost every site we visit now ask if we accept cookies. The cookies help the website tailor to our needs. We are bombarded with ads in one way or another, whether if it’s directly from the retailer, a person, or The Closet Piece (wink) I mean if I’m being honest on a daily basis enticing viewers with clothing and accessories. It’s making you want more not necessarily what’s already in your closet.


Truth be told, there is always something on sale, and I’m not referring to a discounted price, but we don’t need every product that is on sale.


My shopping is most definitely directly connected to how I feel emotionally. I actually believe once I get “that” I’ll be happier. In the last 2 months I’ve spent $2275 total on handbags, 2 to be exact. Ridiculous! Yet, I literally thought once I get this I’ll be happy. Well those happy bags are still in the boxes in my closet. It’s a never ending cycle. I buy these things that I think I need or will make me happier and once it ships, not received, I’m already looking for the next thing to buy. Then I’m looking at my bank account upset, not because I can’t pay my bills but because that could have been money I saved or utilized for things that really make me happy like a vacation to Hawaii. This leads me to being depressed, working more hours for more stuff or to put the money back in my account for the stuff I purchased. It’s a cycle and one that never leaves me happy.


Happiness. Are you happy? I’m not. I haven’t truly enjoyed life since 2016 early 2017 and it’s 2021. My human needs are not being met. I’m missing out on the things that matter most... time with family, friends, sufficient rest, etc. My time is spent working, not even enjoying the stuff. I have all these clothes, shoes, purses and I rarely leave the house.

I want every single day to be my 2016, working to live not living to work.

On the show Ryan talked about an intentional life, not a perfect one, and to get there you may have to get rid of some stuff.

I had an ah-ha moment as Oprah calls them.

I am challenging myself to not make any more non-essential purchases for the remainder of the year. I am going to live my life intentionally, utilizing the stuff I already own, while making new memories. I know it won’t be easy but I’m going to damn sure try! Wish me luck! I need an editor, this is too long to reread for gramatical errors. Until next time sister girls... thanks for hanging in my closet.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page