top of page
  • Writer's pictureKisha

Twenty Twenty Won

Updated: Jan 11, 2021

I said the other day how I binged the series Sex and the City well once I finished I followed up with the movies, both of them. In one scene Carrie said “What would the girls think?” and I can’t remember Big’s exact response but it came down to who cares. If you plan on winning in life, meaning doing things your way, you cannot care about other people’s opinions. I’ve been in situations listening to others advice even following it only to end up with regrets. I’ve had people give me advice that they would never follow themselves. Side bar: My biggest pet peeve. How do you tell someone do to something you would never do? Sorry, I get side tracked so the moral is: Your life Your way. Advice is great, especially when it’s from someone who has actually been where you are, but you have to decide what will make you happy. I’ve lived long enough to know people form opinions regardless of the direction you take. Therefore, it’s no longer what would so and so think it’s what do I think!


In the movie The Other Woman (20th Century Fox)

Nicki Minaj’s character Lydia said “selfish people live longer” and I believe it.

It’s twenty twenty won and there is no time to be concerned with others opinions or feelings if it means saying no to yourself. We must pour into ourselves. God first then self... kids... family... careers, etc. I’ve spent most of my life putting my child first. In theory, it sounds like the right thing to do, but what happens when you pour everything you have into someone else - you’re left empty. The kids become engrossed in there own lives and you’re lost without them or even worse obsessed with their lives without living your own life. We are individuals first, with our own identities. We’re more than just ____’s daughter, ____’s wife, ____’s girlfriend, ____’s mom, ____’s family, ____’s friend or ____’s employee or even owner of ____ company.

It’s time to pour into our own cups and fill them up - living life by our own rules, say yes to ourselves first, finding our happiness because we only have one life to live and it doesn’t last as long as we think.

I’m going to fill up spiritually, intellectually, financially, physically, and romantically. In that order! Let the overflow begin....


What are you filling up on? It’s 2021 and your time to win.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page